FREEEEEDOM!… and it looks good on YOU

22 Jun

AGH! why is it so hard to pick up wifi in certain places?! Like seriously I love the freedom of being able to pick up the notebook and venture somewhere to post nu blogs or whatever but if it’s this hard to pick up wifi I would rather have a cord attached to me at all times!!! [woooSAAAAA] okay that was my rant for the day. On to the next.

So anyone that knows me knows that I absolutely LOATHE paying for things that I clearly can do myself. Case in point my toes. I refuse to pay $20 to $30 for a pedicure when I have a boat load of polish at home along with polish remover and a steady hand. I can sit in my own tub that I can verify has been cleaned to within an inch of its life ( yes I am a certified germ-a-phobe) and I know I will not end up with a nasty fungus or some other creature going on my foot. Every once in a while the booski will treat me to a “spa day” where I get my toes done and to be honest the jets are AWESOME! But seriously a lil elbow grease and a pumice stone work just as well. But yea the point (there is a point I promise) here that I am making is that I don’t like being swindled out of my hard-earned cash just to realize I could have done it myself and spent that money on shoes or FOOD! This frustration is shared by many of my homegirls. We are sick of paying for things that savvy, 21st century women like ourselves are perfectly capable of doing on our own. I mean who says that we HAVE to spend 2 hours in the nail salon and even longer in the hair salon in order to be considered beautiful, well- kept and stylish? Who says that we have to spend ridiculous amounts of money being waxed, tweezed, plucked, poked and rubbed just to feel good about ourselves. Yes, massages and pedis and manis and a good scalp tingling hair washing are soooooooooooooooooo relaxing and well deserved for us hard-working women but Christ y does the ish cost so much????! I want more bang for my buck and an extra dollar in my pocket. Like I said before, I would rather spend that money on shoes and food (if you’re noticing a trend here, yes I like to eat!). So ummm yea where am I going with this? [SCROLL DOWN]

Be self-made ladies and gentlemen (I have a few male readers;); how many women wear a “side-part under”?  Be self-reliant; how many women HAVE to have a hair stylist, manicurist, nail tech… whatever because they can’t or don’t know how to do it themselves? Be you… naturally; how many women are conforming to societal Norms for various reasons?! Think about your beauty regime. Now think about how much of that regime requires someone else to keep it up, looking right and tight like you like. If you can count more than 2 ppl you see regularly to keep you “together” then maybe you ought to rethink this regime. I feel that the whole point of all these treatments we give ourselves are so we can enjoy life to its fullest and have some degree of freedom about ourselves. If you are spending at least 2 hours in one establishment 3 and 4 times a week or more just to feel good, are you really accomplishing what you intended to? Are you that much more relaxed or happy or free? That was my realization a few years ago while sitting in a hair salon getting my do did. I had been there since 10a and it was well after 3p when I finally walked out with &60 fewer in my pockets! Needless to say I never went back to that hair stylist… I found someone else though and continued this trend of giving up half my morning to the salon trap, all be it my time spent dec. from 5.5 hours to about 2.5. Still I wasn’t all that ecstatic about it. That feeling of dissatisfaction only intensified when I returned to school that fall for my last year of undrgrad. i hadn’t had the opportunity to get to my hair stylist before the start of the semester. I mean of course I had to be fly and fresh to death for the first day! C’mon son I had an image and reputation to uphold (I’m not joking) so I had to come up with something. I wasn’t going to allow any other stylist to do my hair so I turned to a trusted friend who is a hella of  a braider for some sleek and skinny cornrows. That did the trick… til I had to take them jokers out and deal with the hair underneath. Shortly thereafter I made the decision to go natural. I said to hell with all the salon time and the waiting and the scheduling. Honestly, it was the best decision I have made besides falling in love with Jesus. I had so much freedom! It was wonderful! As the relaxer continued to grow out and I begin to see the beautiful texture that was lying underneath patiently waiting for a chance to show off its glory, I was falling in love all over again. No a year and some change later I am 100% au natural and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

I say all this just to say that I want you to enjoy you Dollface! If you chose to relax… Fine! If you chose to be natural… Great! That’s a personal decision that one makes after much thought and reflection. Do what fits you and your lifestyle. Just know that natural can be achieved by all of us not just the certain few with a certain hair type. It is one step on the road to total self acceptance and a freeing journey that will be completely and uniquely yours… unlike any other persons.

Xisses and Hugz Dollface!

Leave a Reply

